Old self-taught vs. uni debate; Landscape for former; Jane Street

Hi all,

I’ve messed around with programming over the years but I never really got ‘hooked’ until I started learning Ocaml recently.

As a 31, almost 32 year old starting their journey in earnest, I wanted this community’s take on potential interview potential down the road.

Some online seem to think that to get an engineering job you have to have company contacts and/or go through the Bachelor’s/Grad → Internship route. Others seem to think that all you need is to contribute significantly to open source and/or personal projects related to your interests and try to get involved with the community in whatever ways you are able: eventually you’ll fall into a well-matched team.

As a case study, I noticed that on Jane Street’s website open roles are split into ‘Experienced’ and ‘New Grads and Interns.’ How should one go about presenting themselves in the application
process given that neither category completely applies? Perhaps Intern could, but do they consider non-traditional Internship applicants? Maybe JS expects these candidates to work for a period of time somewhere else before considering applying?

All thoughts are welcomed.

P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this. I didn’t see a category that jumped out.

4 Likes

I once applied to JS and I can say they’re completely fair and understand nontraditional backgrounds.

2 Likes

What is your goal exactly?

Is it just getting a programming job (ideally in OCaml I presume)?

Essentially. My ideal would be a place that’s not too stifled by corporate routine and really values the curiosity of its employees. And yeah Ocaml would be amazing. But I don’t know if I have quite enough experience yet to commit to a particular niche.

I took a “non traditional route” into being a working programmer. I also know a good many others who’ve done the same.