Is rescript damaging Ocaml ecosystem?

Hello.
It is not my intention to criticize anyone or blame people about any decission.
It is just that this idea crosses my mind every time I want to start a pet-project in ocaml, or I read a new announce about rescript.

Also, I’m asking here because I’m almost an “outsider” of the Ocaml community and my perspective may be wrong looking from the outside. To put you an example, I’m a JS developer and I am tired of reading about the JS fatigue. Seems to be a problem for people that wants to get into the ecosystem, but once you are on it, you just use whatever you like and forget about the rest. I guess if this is a similar case.

The point of my thinking, and what brings me to make this question is that, when I discovered Ocaml through reason I was very happy. Reason was very familiar for me, and it was equivalent to Ocaml, so I could learn Reason, then transition to Ocaml. When I learnt more about Ocaml, Reason was still making sense for building the UI parts using the React integration. I decided to let the ecosystem mature a bit and come back when Reason were more mature (better IDE support, more bindings, etc). Meanwhile I just used ocaml for some CLIs.

For me, the toolchain was already confusing enough when rescript appeared, and the feeling that I had is that is that it was like starting from the ground up again. The worst part is that I could not just ignore it and continue using Reason and Ocaml because now Rescript is the official way to go for web. This is taking out attention out of my favorite syntax (Ocaml) and it’s taking advantage of the Reason name to position itself.