Help declaring some functions

I just started learning OCaml but have a hard time understanding the “basics”. I have got some training examples where I am supposed to create the following functions but I have no clue of how to even start. Could anyone help me declare a few of them to see if I get the hang of it. We are not supposed to use any built-in library like List or similar.

I think I could figure out the cons, empty and length but the rest is a mystery to me.

val first: 'a my_list -> 'a /return the first element of a list.
val last: 'a my_list -> 'a /return the last element of a list.
val rest: 'a my_list -> 'a my_list //return everything but the first element in a list.
val cons: 'a -> my_list -> 'a my_list

val empty: 'a my_list -> bool
val length: 'a my_list -> int

val map: ('a -> 'b) -> 'a my_list -> 'b my_list /create the map function using the previously created functions
val fold: ('b -> 'a -> 'a) -> 'a -> 'b my_list -> 'a
val append: 'a my_list -> 'a my_list -> 'a my_list

val as_list 'a my_list -> 'a list
val from_list 'a list -> 'a my_list

Most of these are covered in OCaml from the very beginning (and its exercises), which I can wholeheartedly recommend - it was the book that helped me get started.

You didn’t give us the type declaraction for your my_list, which makes it slightly tricky to help you write functions using it. I’ll assume it’s something like:

type 'a my_list = Nil | Node of 'a * 'a my_list

It sounds like you may want to read up on “pattern matching.”

val first: 'a my_list -> 'a   (* return the first element of a list.*)
let first = function
  | Nil -> failwith "throw an exception because the list has no elements"
  | Node (a, ignore_the_rest) -> a

The above will throw an exception if the list is empty. You might want to change your interface to be:

val first: 'a my_list -> 'a option
(** [first lst] returns [Some] the first element of [lst], or [None] if the list is empty. *)
let first = function
  | Nil -> None