Several Ocaml questions

Ok, this is a longshot but I wil try anyway. I am currently studying Discrete Mathematics which invoves alot of ocaml. Our study material is mostly teacher-made powerpoints without answers and a textbook which only focuses on the math-part. We have now got some training materials that we should try to learn but I am finding it nearly impossible as I can’t find many answers online or in the book.

If someone could try to answer any of the questions I would be really happy:

1: what type does the ML function ( ^) have? when trying in utop I get “bytes -> bytes -> bytes = fun” -does that mean that type is a function? or is it the whole : “bytes -> bytes -> bytes = fun” ?

2: Find two non empty strings s and t so that s ^ t = t ^ s. I would think that that could be only if s and t is the same like “aa” “aa” or “aba” and “aba”

3:What could generally be said about a pair of those commuted strings? I have no idea, that they have to be the same?

4: Let T be the sum of binary strings that does not contains two consecutive ones

4.1 Give a short recursive definition of the set T

4.2 Let An be the number of strings in T of length n. Write a recursive expression for An.

4.3 Write in ML a recursive function gen n with signature val gen: int -> string list that generates a list of such strings. (The strings are represented as common strings with characters ‘0’ and ‘1’.)

5: type operator = Plus | Minus | Times | Id
type value = Zero | One
type term = { op: operator; v: value; aux: value option}

5.1: How many values is there of the type term? I would guess 4*2 but I have no idea how the last value “aux” works.

5.2: Implement the parameterization objecttype 'a option directly as a sum-type in ML

5.3: **Write a ML function : **
let map f = …
val map : (’a ->’b) -> (’a option -> ’b option)
so that: map f None = None and map f (Some x) = Some (f x)