Enhancing Ocaml Debugging Experience in Visual Studio Code

Hi all,

Ocaml debugger for Visual Studio Code

I am trying to provide full language support for Ocaml in Visual Studio Code. I have already installed this extension. Now, I want to debug my Ocaml source code within Visual Studio Code. I have also installed the Ocaml Debugger extension. However, it does not even provide an option to create a launch file. Do you have any suggestions for debugging Ocaml code? I really need it as I am new to Ocaml and I am working on another developer's extensive code base. Having a debugger will greatly help me understand it in less time.

Thank you in advance.

The only support for debugging inside VS Code is GitHub - hackwaly/ocamlearlybird: OCaml debug adapter but sadly it is not being actively maintained (judging by the README it only supports 4.11 and 4.12). And in any case since it is an adaptor for ocamldebug it only supports bytecode.

Until better alternatives come along, I suggest you get used to the time-tested debugging technique practiced by OCaml experts and beginners alike with unsurpassed effectiveness: printf debugging.

Cheers,
Nicolas

There are ppx_debug and ppx_interact. The associated VS Code extension.

P.S. ppx_minidebug might be easier to install (although not on opam yet.).

1 Like

I’ve been scratching my head because earlier this week I accidentally had working breakpoints (in .ml source files) for native code in Visual Studio Code. Kinda flabbergasted that I’ve been using OCaml for two years and never knew I could do that.

Just for Linux and macOS, not Windows, although I think I understand the (small) gap on Windows. And no printing of the runtime value type yet.