Dune build error

Hi, I am new to Ocaml, and follow this tutorial, try a helloworld , run dune build, it doesn’t work as I expected.

dune version: 3.0.2
ocaml: 4.11.1
How can I solve this?

1 Like

Are you sure that you ran dune init exe helloworld fist as in the tutorial? If you did, and you still get this error, then it could be a bug in dune 3.00. (Dune 3.0 strengthened the rules about dune-project, but dune init should support the new rules!)

This has already been solved on SO: Ocaml: dune build eror? - Stack Overflow

2 Likes

Well I don’t think it was “solved” on SO, given that the problem persists that a high-visibility tutorial has instructions that broke with the Dune 3.0 release. We need the Dune people to fix their software (or the tutorial to be fixed, but in this case I think the tutorial is right), otherwise many other beginners are going to run into this issue.

2 Likes

Note: @douyu did report the issue to Dune upstream and in fact it was already reported independently two days ago. The Dune developers are already aware of it, and hopefully they will fix dune init shortly.

1 Like

The tutorial is wrong, at least since the dune devs decided to remove automatic generation of dune-project files it has been invalidated. But dune init exec has never been the right way to initialize projects. See Project initalized with `init exec` does not build (cannot find root) · Issue #5460 · ocaml/dune · GitHub for some details.

It’s maybe also worth noting here the exact problem, and the way to fix it, and a link to the docs with further details are all included in the error message which is included in the screenshot here :slight_smile:

Here’s the fix for the tutorial: Fix "Up and running" tutorial by shonfeder · Pull Request #325 · ocaml/ocaml.org · GitHub

1 Like

I disagree, I think that it’s a pretty natural assumption that dune init ... commands will result in a working Dune build, and that UI changes that break this property need to be fixed.