Searching for functions

OCaml newbie here - coming from Haskell land out of curiosity.

I’m interested how you guys find your way around stdlib/packages etc?

Example: I’m writing a script and I want to lookup an environment variable. I know there’s probably some function along the lines of get_env somewhere, so I’d like to know where it is and what type it has. In Haskell I’d do a hoogle search along the lines of https://www.stackage.org/lts-13.18/hoogle?q=getenv - what would be my process in OCaml?

I tried googling “get env var in Ocaml” - first hit is a link to stdlib, but I’m using base. It did at least give me the hint that Sys is a relevant namespace, so I go and look at the docs for Base.Sys (many clicks later - https://ocaml.janestreet.com/ocaml-core/latest/doc/base/Base/Sys/index.html) but getenv isn’t listed. But it is apparently there…

There must be a better way?

5 Likes

The Hoogle equivalent for OCaml is called odig: https://erratique.ch/software/odig . You can install it locally and have it generate documentation for all installed packages. However, generated documentation is not globally searchable (see last point). Besides that, there are a few other strategies:

• Familiarize yourself with the standard library that ships with every OCaml distribution: https://caml.inria.fr/pub/docs/manual-ocaml/libref/ . This is the equivalent of Haskell’s base package. The Prelude equivalent module is called Pervasives. You will find the Sys module here, and getenv in there.
  • Keep http://opam.ocaml.org/packages/ handy for when you’re given a package name to look up. Package documentation is mostly not uploaded to a central location like Haddock. (But people have been talking about setting that up at docs.ocaml.org.) You’ll probably need to open up and search through .mli files once in a while.