Reliable development of desktop GUI: which tools best suit?

Looking for recent resources for GUI and web development with OCaml, I’ve read the related topics ( GUI in ocaml ? What is used?, Library for GUI?, Are any OCaml GUI bindings under active development? …) with all the resources discussed. I already knew some of them (lablgtk, Ocsigen…).
Now that I have some OCaml programs working, I would like to make them accessible to some test users.
There are two use cases:

1. the user has only a web browser, and the required features are quite limited (create account, login, upload and download some documents and get some simple information).

2. the user is an identified worker who can be equipped with the relevant
    configuration regarding OCaml constraints (computer+OS+software) with total freedom.

I have some knowledge in HTML/CSS but very basic knowledge in JS.
I don’t need advanced visual features.
Reliability and fast development are the two key requirements.

In this context, what would be the best tools for creating a simple website (case 1. ) and a usable GUI (case 2. )?

In general, what are the technical points that should be known to get a working OCaml program accessible from a web browser and a desktop GUI?

EDIT
Forget the question about web dev.

Let’s focus on desktop GUI.
Except from using GTK and Qt and their related OCaml bindings, does it exist another (reliable) way to develop a desktop GUI?
Something quite “low level”.

Do you thing that, say, Stdlib.Graphics could fit that need?

There is a Tk binding also. Gtk3 beta binding is also released. Graphics is tedious, Sdl would be more suitable. One could try to write a binding to nuklear [1] and write ogl GUIs.

[1] https://github.com/vurtun/nuklear

2 Likes

I have started binding nuklear, but haven’t got anything to share yet.

1 Like

As you talk about openGL GUIs, do you have an experience with lablgl?