Recommend UI Frameworks in 2024

Hey, I am quite new to OCaml and I was wondering what the popular UI frameworks are.

The general space of UI has some interesting retained mode libraries like Libadwaita / GTK, Slint, Kirigami2 / QT and Cosmic / Iced.

Are there any (active) efforts in OCaml to conveniently create native UIs?

2 Likes

I think the biggest one is Lablgtk. It’s used by the Coq theorem prover. See Trying the 7GUIs with LablGTK3/OCaml

Sanette’s Bogue also seems to be actively maintained.

3 Likes

And of those two, Bogue is the only one that has some support on native Windows.

2 Likes

However, trying opam install bogue on Windows, I have tsdl < 0.9.9 not available because the package is pinned to version 0.9.9.

Lablgtk can be installed on Windows (Diskuv OCaml), but the process is rather complex.

1 Like

I’m not sure what this means. Bogue install does not perform any pinning. What happens if you simply try opam install tsdl.0.9.8?

1 Like

tsdl.0.9.9is pinned by something else… I can’t figure out why.

did you try opam unpin tsdl?

It is pinned by DkML. You can unpin but you might miss DkML patches for Windows, or sometimes you get broken versions that have had no testing on Windows.

So … try out unpinning first. If that doesn’t work you can file a feature request at DkML / Distributions / DkML · GitLab because I do intend to have at least minimal support for Bogue in DkML. Include the output of opam list and also a two-line use case (sufficient for me to know what packages will be needed in the future).

on the other hand, I am planning quite soon a new release of Bogue using tsdl 1.0.0, so this problem should disappear

in fact, if you want to try it right away:
opam pin git@github.com:sanette/bogue.git#power_saving

1 Like