Pure-OCaml Statistical Library: Feasible?

Hello all,

This is my first time really interacting with the OCaml community!

I’m interested in building a statistical library that’s OCaml all the way down, rather than using C bindings like Owl, or other libraries as seen on this discussion thread. I’m rather familiar with statistics but not so much with OCaml, so my question is whether there are significant issues that I may face when implementing a statistical library without using the C bindings? Or is there no reason to do so, perhaps a reason I’m missing?

Looking forward to hearing from the community!

5 Likes

It should be fine, and native arrays are rather performant (see e.g. the dumb benchmark here). All of owl-base is, in fact, implemented in pure OCaml: feel free to take a peek at the code!

EDIT: I had incorrectly stated that owl stats was implemented in ocaml, but this is true only for the stats module in owl-base

6 Likes

Excellent, thank you! I saw that you’re a member of their team, are you aware if there’s any interest in expanding Owl’s pure OCaml implementation? I don’t want to reinvent the wheel if I can contribute to a well-known library instead.

2 Likes

If it is done organically with the main owl library sure!

For many of the extension we ended up creating external packages (like owl-symbolic, owl-ode, …) and contributed to the main project whatever we needed from the base library but we found missing/broken/improvable.

I think the best way would be to do something similar, so you can experiment and are free of any ties — and long design discussions — but can still benefit from the main implementation and tooling.

1 Like

I’m curious about the motivation for replacing C bindings to well-established, optimized external libs with pure OCaml.