Philosophy and foundation of ocaml

Hello to all friends
I recently started learning ocaml. And at the very beginning a few questions came to me that I’d like to give you guidance.

1. As far as I know, ocaml is a language that is programmable with oo and functional. What does the ML programming style mean?
  2. In which areas(web development, microservice , AI , Data Analyze…)?
    3… What is the ranking of programming languages.I mean high or low level?
    Thanks

Welcome ! I’ll give it a try :

1. OO features are rarely used except for really specific cases, and I think the ML style refers to module-based programming, because that is one of OCaml’s best features. One usually writes OCaml in a functional style, but we can use imperative features to keep the code clean and readable when it is needed.

2. A lot of areas can use OCaml. It has been historically used in compilers because of its very strong type system, and still to this day. For example, Facebook uses it for static analysis tools. Its type system brings a lot to web development (see ReasonML). Any company in need of verified software can rely on Coq. Clean network applications can be developed thanks to MirageOS. Some successful companies use OCaml too (JaneStreet, Tezos, OCamlPro, …).

3. OCaml is a high level programming language. Having such things as algebraic data types, pattern matching, and first class functions and modules, make this language really powerful to abstract concepts. It is a garbage collected language, so you don’t have to explicitly manage memory. Performance remains really good though, as it is a compiled language. Low level work can be done too when needed, but I don’t know much about it. I’ll just say that you can handle bytes one by one if you need it, with modules of the standard library, and manage buffers or that kind of stuff.

I hope I gave you the start of an answer. I’ll let more experienced users tell you more about it !

1 Like