Favorite Benefits of OCaml

Hello!

We’re looking to revise the Why OCaml pag, and we’d like to focus on the benefits of OCaml rather than the features, making it less technical and more engaging for newcomers.

What are your favorite things about OCaml? What would you tell a newcomer to convince them to try OCaml?

Thanks for your help!

8 Likes

I am a newbie so perhaps might be wrong. some of my favorite things are (1) Ability to use both code and data as values and then composing logic with railway programming techniques (|> and ->) brings clarity (2) Powerful collections library (3) ability to organize code with modules and (4) Ability to write frontend and backend applications with js_of_ocaml, reason, rescript and (5) Powerful concurrency library like Lwt.

3 Likes
  • Fast compiler; fast iteration speed, easy to try out experiments and refactor quickly
  • REPL-driven workflow possible; one of the rare compiled languages that allows you to start a REPL session and interactively start building a Gtk+ GUI
  • Strength of the type system is tempered by practicality and provides just enough leverage that many errors can be ruled out with simple, elegant types; doesn’t go overboard with type safety features
  • Surprisingly still rare among compiled languages: provides named and optional arguments, a huge benefit for maintainable code
  • Lot of attention given to backwards compatibility in general; people report that decades-old code still compiles in modern OCaml versions, just with more safety warnings.
16 Likes

When I was looking around, only OCaml language had all of the following:

• ML-like type system
    • Algebraic data types
  • Immutability first
  • Pattern matching
  • Type inference
  • Fast compilation speed
  • All of the above enables a fast, iterative, ‘if it compiles, then it mostly works’ workflow, and makes refactoring a breeze, while keeping everything practical. This advantage cannot be overstated!