Odoc and odig - not quite working for me?

Hi-- I’m pretty new to OCaml, so likely I’m just doing something boneheaded.

But: for a little while I used odig/odoc to generate local manuals/API docs in html on my system.

Sometime a few days ago – I think it was after an “opam update” invocation, though I’m not at all sure what was updated… – I began having trouble with odig. As far as I can tell, odig (or odoc – I’m not sure which to “blame”) fails to make the html docs for core_kernel.

More precisely,

$ odig odoc core_kernel

results in a fair amount of noise, which terminates in

[ABORTED][read:2174] ‘/home/george/.opam/default/var/cache/odig/odoc/core_kernel/core_kernel.html.deps’
[ABORTED][write:9081] ‘/home/george/.opam/default/var/cache/odig/html/index.html’
odig: [ERROR] Roots never became ready:
{"/home/george/.opam/default/var/cache/odig/html/core_kernel/index.html"}

I just now tried “starting over with my installation”, as follows.

I moved ~/.opam to a ~/opam-keep

and ran

opam init opam install core utop
opam install async yojson core_extended core_bench cohttp async_graphics cryptokit menhir opam install odoc odig

Then, doing next

$ odig odoc

results in the “[ABORTED]” errors included above. I can provide more output from this error if it is useful, but I doubt that I’ve found something unknown…!

I should perhaps add (if it is useful?) that I’m on a debian system,
I’m running opam installed via apt. And I installed the mccs package via debian, and set

OPAMEXTERNALSOLVER

to mccs (acpud and gringo used up all the CPU/RAM on my system when running opam).

Maybe I need to pin some package versions?? (Well, I tried pinning a few things – e.g. I believe I tried using one version older of odoc and/or odig and/or core_kernel – but wasn’t successful and what I was doing felt a bit random).

Thanks for any suggestions!

Best,
george

Could you please provide the exact version numbers please (including the ocaml compiler).

Hi-- sure.

$ ocamlc --version