JS_of_OCaml vs Bucklescript

Hello, dear community!

Currently we have 2 options to write frontend-related code in OCaml: js_of_ocaml and bucklescript. I have no experience with this two libraries and I want to pick one. Has anybody tried both of them or made some analysis with comparison? Could you please share your thoughts and experience about both libraries if so. I’m interested in: performance of generation, source-mapping, performance, quality, safety and readability of generated JS, simplicity of use, pros and cons of both solutions, etc. Thank you very much for your responses. OCaml community is the best!

5 Likes

I’d like to understand why a readable output is considered so important by many developers using those tools. It can be convenient the first 20 minutes, to check that the code is doing what one would expect. But after that I don’t see the point. Even for bucklescript which pretends to generate a very readable output, it quickly becomes a mess impossible to understand and source map get more valuable in my opinion.

So is it just for trendy reasons? Or to help beginners? Or there is a something I’m missing?

3 Likes

You may need to read a lot of generated JS code to optimize its performance through optimizations in your OCaml code.

One reason for readability is for when you are writing bindings to JS libs. You often need to make sure that the generated code really do what you intended to, since the types will just believe anything you write at that point and won’t really help.

1 Like

I don’t really buy this argument js_of_ocaml has a precise FFI that maps onto the JavaScript language constructs. So as long as you know what you need to bind to (function, method, property, etc.) there’s no need to check the generated code.

3 Likes