Errors with Base/Core and an imported PPX's or deriving

I’m very new to OCaml (~2 weeks) and I keep running into issues when adding Base/Core and modules that implement either PPX or deriving.

How are you supposed to mitigate these issues?

Both have taken quite a bit of work to identify the cause, is there a way to more easily understand where the problems are coming from?

Two examples follow:

The first issue is when I pull in Base with [@@deriving yaml]

open Base

type book = { 
  title: string;
  authors: string list
} [@@deriving yaml]

Compile error:

File "bin/main.ml", line 9, characters 11-22:
9 |   authors: string list
               ^^^^^^^^^^^
Error (warning 6 [labels-omitted]): label f was omitted in the application of this function.
File "bin/main.ml", line 9, characters 11-17:
9 |   authors: string list
               ^^^^^^
Error: This expression should not be a function, the expected type is
       'a Base.List.t

The second issue was when I added Core and pgocaml's PPX in the same module, trying to compile failed. I reduced the issue to the following, where String.concat "" ["a"] existed in the pgocaml PPX.

Starting with:

open Core
open PGOCaml
let () =
  let dbh = PGOCaml.connect () in
  let insert name salary =
    [%pgsql dbh "insert into employees (name, salary) VALUES ($name, $salary)"]
  in
  ignore(insert "Chris" 1_000.0);

Then run ppxfind generates the following, and below is a simplified result which conflicts with Core.

(* 
PGHOST=localhost PGUSER=postgres PGDATABASE=postgres PGPASSWORD=example ppxfind -legacy pgocaml_ppx ./bin/main.ml
PGHOST=localhost PGUSER=postgres PGDATABASE=postgres PGPASSWORD=example dune exec bin/main.exe -- 
*)
open Core
open PGOCaml
let () =
  let dbh = PGOCaml.connect () in
  let insert name salary =
    PGOCaml.bind
      (let dbh = dbh in
       let params : string option list list =
         [[Some (((let open PGOCaml in string_of_string)) name)];