Empty records and record types?

I am new to the language and attempting to model tables in OCaml. My current implementation (an object with 1 attr, a list of records) seems to meet my criteria but is not sufficient for reasoning about empty tables, as OCaml does not seem to let me define record types with no fields or just perform top level checks.

My table encoding

(* table *)
class type table_templ = object
  method columns: 'a list
  method add_rows: 'a list -> 'a list
end;;

class ['a] table  = object
  val mutable columns : 'a list = []
  method columns : 'a list = columns
  method add_rows : 'a list -> 'a list  = fun rows ->
    columns <- rows @ columns;
    columns
end;;

Working example

type student =
  {
    name: string option;
    favourite_color: string option;
  }

let bob = {name = Some "Bob"; age = Some 12; favourite_color = Some "blue";}
let alice = {name = Some "Alice"; age = Some 17; favourite_color = Some "green";}
let eve = {name = Some "Eve"; age = Some 13; favourite_color = Some "red";}

let e = new table;;
e#add_rows [bob; alice; eve];;

Issue with empty tables

type empty = { };;
let empty_record_instance: empty = { };;

let empty_table = new table;;
empty_table#add_rows [empty_record_instance];;
empty_table#columns

I would appreciate any suggestions around making this approach work but I am also open to alternative ideas for encoding tables that already fit the language’s type system and my criteria.

You can use a single constructor instead :

type empty = Empty

and then

let empty_instance = Empty

Then it is not a record type, but it behaves exactly as an empty record would : you do not have subtyping for records.

You could also just use the type unit which is a predefined type with a single constructor (())

1 Like

I think I already tried that but was unable to extend the empty table with a new schema later on. Is this is even a behaviour I would be able to achieve if empty records were possible?