CPS function(Continuation passing style)

I need a function where it gets a list as an input and it returns each element of that list. But if the list is empty it should return nothing. can someone help me? i want to done using recursion and cps. but i do not know how to use cps. I am new to ocaml.

Hello. I did not understand what you are required to do, but here is an example of implementation of List.map using CPS:

let rec map_cps f l k =
  match l with
  | [] -> k []
  | x :: xs -> map_cps f xs (fun t -> k (f x :: t))

let map f l = map_cps f l Fun.id;;

Here is an example of output:

map (fun a -> a + 1) [1; 2; 3; 4; 5];;
- : int list = [2; 3; 4; 5; 6]

Hope it can help!

2 Likes

Thank you for helping me.
I need a function like to get this result.

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf “%i” thing) [] ;;

( prints nothing)

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf "%i " thing) [1] ;;

( prints: 1 )

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf "%i " thing) [0; 1; 2] ;;
( prints: 0 1 2)

function name is => choose x list

hope you understand and thak you again. please help

choose etc things <== this is the function name
Call the continuation etc on each member of the list things.<== this is what should it do

these are the results from this function

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf “%i” thing) [] ;;

( prints nothing)

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf "%i " thing) [1] ;;

( prints: 1 )

choose (fun thing → Printf.printf "%i " thing) [0; 1; 2] ;;
( prints: 0 1 2)

please help. Thank you

If you rename the function @cloudyhug wrote for you and supply your printing lambda instead of the incrementing they used as an example then you’ll get the expected output.