VSCode Editor Setup

I’m just getting started with OCaml development, using VSCode as a primary editor. I’m using the ocamllabs.ocaml-platform extension and it’s working quite well so far, but I have a few questions.

I’m aware that Merlin provides all of the nice IDE-like features, but I think I’m missing some sort of link between my Dune and Merlin configurations. Specifically, I don’t know of a way to make Merlin aware of any changes in my project’s modules until I build them with something like:

ocamlbuild src/foo.cmi

and Merlin sees the changes in my _build directory. So if I change the type of some function in one module and update a function to accept that new type in a different module, Merlin will display an error in the editor indicating that it’s not aware of that new type until I build the other module. And even when Merlin complains like that, I can dune build just fine.

I know that this is how Merlin works and I don’t think anything is wrong with it, but it seems like the cmi files that Merlin gets its information from should have some way to be automatically generated/updated? Am I missing some piece of a more common, better workflow? I’ve looked for sources online describing a better workflow with this but haven’t had any luck.

Would very much appreciate any pointers or ideas that might help me smooth this out!

I usually just run dune build -w (watch mode) in the integrated terminal which updates the generated files as I work on a project.

3 Likes

If you’re starting a new project, don’t use ocamlbuild, use dune. If you’re working on an existing project, in the long run (even in the medium run) it’s best to port it away from ocamlbuild to dune.

2 Likes