Using ocaml-top for teaching an introduction to OCaml class

I’ve been teaching an introduction to OCaml for several years, and I’ve always had some push-back from students about using emacs + tuareg (the first lab session was often an introduction to emacs…)

I’m considering switching to ocaml-top, as this course only uses the top-level. Are there others who use ocaml-top in a teaching environment? And is ocaml-top still maintained (I looked at the github issues and I’m not seeing much activity)?

Thanks,

Alan

Last commit to ocaml-top was only a couple of months ago. It might need a little kicking to work on 4.07 but I’m sure it would be trivial.

I’ve had students push back against the use of Emacs in several contexts. My usual attitude is, “you’re CS students, that means you’re going to have to deal with professional tools at some point”, but I get finding that exhausting. That said, I still make fun of students who use Notepad to write programs.

I recommend taking a look at visual studio code. It’s a pretty, cross-platform editor with pretty good support for OCaml.

5 Likes

Just to add onto other answers, I definitely don’t think emacs is a very good option if it’s new CS students, the learning curve is quite high, and it’s not very ergonomic by default. The default bindings almost wore my left pinky out, as in seriously hurt/suffered from inflammation, switched to spacemacs afterwards.

I think what @Yaron_Minsky suggested is the best option for students for their fingers’ health and better focus on OCaml.

Something was probably wrong with how you were using your keyboard. For example, you probably didn’t use the control and alt keys on both sides. Anyway, I started using emacs 35 years ago or so, and my pinkies are still firmly attached to my hands. I was taught how to use it in my intro class, btw, and it was fine.