Using generic function return values in functors

Hello all, first of all I’m new to OCaml world so I may be missing most of the needed vocabulary to properly explain what I’m trying to achieve, so to make things easier I made a sketch.sh of what I’m trying to do: Sketch.sh - Interactive ReasonML/OCaml sketchbook

Copying and pasting here for anyone that may not be able to access sketch.sh:

Higher-Order Component using Functors

I’m trying to create a Functor that acts as a Higher-Order Component in ReScript React. Since OCaml community is bigger, the code will be in OCaml.

What am I trying to achieve?

I don’t have a use-case for HoC, I was nerd sniped by a friend and now it became a interesting problem to sink time and brain-effort into. But I do have some constraints that, in my mind, makes it “useable” in real world. A HoC has to:

1. Be a Functor
  2. When defining a component using it, I should be able to pass as props the HoC props and child props effortlessly. For example: <SuperButton hocProp=true childProp=true />

So, without further ado, let’s begin

Component module type

We need to be able to identify a component in our Functor, so let’s create a module type for it.

module type Component =
  sig
    type props
    type makeProps
    val makeProps: ?key: string -> makeProps
  end

This module signature will not work today in ReScript React because the @react.component ppx only outputs the makeProps and make functions, and not their typings.

I decided to separate the ?key from the rest of the makeProps arguments because all makeProps definitions have a ?key and we want to be able to pass the key down to the child component.

Creating an Example Component

To illustrate our use-case, we’ll create a ExampleComponent that’s as close to what @react.component outputs as possible

module ExampleComponent = struct
  type props = {childProp: string}
  type makeProps = childProp: string -> unit -> props

let makeProps ?key ~childProp () = {childProp}
end