Tool like python poetry or elixirs mix that makes use of exhaustive lockfiles?

Is there a config/build tool similar to pythons poetry or elixirs mix or erlangs rebar3 that manages dependencies in a local “virtual environment” that sees only the dependencies specified? That also works with a lock file for full reproducability of the dev environment?

There’s esy although it’s not 1.0 yet.

3 Likes

opam also supports virtual environments with “local switches” and – as of Opam 2.1 – built-in support for lock file generation.

However, opam's lock files won’t get you truly reproducible builds since they don’t contain hashes of Opam packages (which can change by mutating either opam-repository or the package deployment after release). That may not matter for your use-case.

(edit: did some more digging into esy and it appears to hash the entire package on resolve. Neat!)

1 Like

I’ve been using Esy for a few months now and it’s been solid. I especially like its Nix-style compilation cache–it avoids dependency recompiles even across projects.

You can just use Nix whose config can be directly generated from the opam file with [ANN] opam2nix (v1).

1 Like

I’m already using nix :wink: had some trouble using opam2nix the other day… Will try again!

Okay tried opam2nix again, no dice…

https://gitlab.com/NobbZ/ocaml2nix-hello-example fails due to OCAMLTOP_INCLUDE_PATH: unbound variable when building dune, running nix-build directly in the examples/simple dir of opam2nix gives me OCAMLPATH: unbound variable when building cppo.

The linked repository of mine, just tries to mimick what the mentioned example does anyway, differences I am aware of, is that I want to use a more recent version of OCaml and I have resolved at a later point in time, both might lead to a different opam-selection.

Can someone help me figuring this out? Or should I go and open a ticket at opam2nix repo? Create a new thread here?