Sparse linear solve, or: how to use C/Python/... code from OCaml

Hi, I need to efficiently solve a sparse linear system in OCaml. The state of the art libraries for doing this are UMFPACK/SuiteSparse and SuperLU. These backends are integrated in various numerical libraries including Eigen (C++) and SciPy (Python).

Any ideas what might be the fastest way to use these libraries from OCaml? I am aware of Owl, which includes bindings to Eigen but unfortunately does not seem to include support for sparse solvers at the moment. How difficult is it to interface with Python code? I would like to get this up and running as quickly as possible, and I am wondering what would be the path of least resistance.

Hi,

I’m not very experienced with OCaml but I’ve been binding parts of SuiteSparse in another language (in Rust), so maybe you’ll find my point of view useful.

From what I’ve seen, SuiteSparse is pretty easy to bind since it mostly requires simple types such as pointers to integers and pointers to floats. So you probably want to store your sparse matrix using some bigarrays and pass their pointers to SuiteSparse’s functions.

I’m not sure interfacing with python would be easy, it’s not easy to interface two garbage collected languages, and you would have to bind more or less the same functions.

2 Likes

We have an internal project using py.ml to bind to some NLP libraries and existing custom Python code. The trickiest part so far has been making the sure environment is setup properly so py.ml has access to the expected libraries (managed by Python’s virtualenv). py.ml itself has been fairly easy to work with after learning a bit about Python’s internal data representation.

2 Likes