Report on first steps in OCaml

This is a report of the first steps on my journey to learning OCaml.

To give you some context, I am a relatively experienced programmer with very little free time, so I was looking for a crash-course, i.e. the quickest possible introduction to the language, so that I can get to work and learn as I implement my side-project.

I know there’s work being done on the documentation site, and that’s fantastic. This report dates back to a month ago, so it might be that some resources have been updated in the meantime. cc @professor.rose who asked me about my experience as a newcomer :slight_smile:

Anyway, here goes:

• The first question is: which resource do I use? The choice seems to be between Learn OCaml and RWO. I ended up choosing the former
  • Digression: I’m a Nix user, so had to first figure out how to take procedural install instructions (e.g. opam switch) and turn them into declarative environment declarations for a Nix shell
  • Setting up LSP: First I needed to figure out the difference between OCaml-LSP and Merlin (turns out, the former uses the latter);
    • the official docs say that Vim users don’t need to setup up LSP, and use Merlin directly – why?
  • how do I test for equality? No mention of the semantics of = that I could easily find
    • even “worse”, no mention of the highly unusual <> :slight_smile:
  • I ended up finding this info here, but knowing what to search for, the Cornell course also has this info
  • the stdlib pages don’t list individual functions in the sidebar, which makes it hard to skim them for what I’m looking for
  • additionally, they don’t provide any examples, which makes it much harder to figure out how to use the functions
  • ; vs ;; vs in: here I got confused. The examples only deal with the top-level, and introduce the ;; syntax which AFAIU is only used there. I got tripped up by the difference between ; and in.

For example, running ocamlc against this is a syntax error: