Practice: Making Invalid States Unrepresentable

I’m not sure if this is the place for this, but I wanted to start a discussion
that would end up being sort of a sprawling code review of a toy problem.

I’m just learning OCaml.

One of the exciting techniques I’ve read about in using a language that support
abstract data types is the fact that you can model your problem in a way that
the type system makes it impossible to represent invalid application states.

This is something that I’ve seen only a couple examples of and I want to try to
find more ways to learn how to do this better.

I’m working on a side project gathering a collection of coding puzzles to solve
in OCaml and I came up with a couple implementations of one that might be
approaching something manageable but I still feel like it’s falling short.

To take you through the iterations, I’m working on a way to generate a solution
to this simple logic puzzle involving a fox, a goose, a bag of corn, and a
river. You can only transport one animal at a time, and leaving the animals
alone on one side of the river will allow that animal to eat another animal (or
the corn).

I’ve come up with a couple ways to represent this that are varying degrees along
the spectrum of the code allowing for invalid states to still be possible.

(* naiive and error prone *)

type player = Fox | Goose | Corn | Person
type riverbank = Bank of player list
type boat = Boat player list
type game = riverbank * boat * riverbank

let first_game_state = (
    [Fox; Goose; Corn; Person],
    [],
    []
)

(* check if someone's getting eaten *)
let is_dangerous g = true (* would need to check list contents etc *)

let generate_solution first_state = [first_state]
(* would generate a list of states that get to the solution state *)

This is how I would probably model it in most languages, but there are a number
of invalid states you could create from this model. For example if the solution
generator’s second step looked like this:

(