Ocamlc bytecode file vs dune bytecode *.bc file

Hello, everybody!
This may seem like a bunch of silly question, but i am very new to ocaml, so here they come:

We know that OCaml bytecode compiler “ocamlc” compiles OCaml source files to bytecode object files and links these object files to produce standalone bytecode executable files.
Now, dune can be also set to build bytecode executables with *.bc extension.

So, which tool(s) does dune use internally to achieve this? Does it use “ocamlc” internally?

Are there any tools available to peek inside bytecode files produced by “ocamlc” and dune apart from just hex editors? But tools able to reflect the inner structure of the said files.

Is internal format of ocaml bytecode and native files documented anywhere? I mean similar to, say, PE files format?
Thanks in advance!

If you haven’t already, you should look at the Real World OCaml page about OCaml Bytecode: The Compiler Backend: Bytecode and Native code - Real World OCaml

That page mentions you can use ocamlc -dinstr to view the generated bytecode instructions of an .ml file.

You can also open a repl with ocaml -dinstr which will print the bytecode instructions for each expression the repl evaluates.

The best reference I’ve found is the following PDFs:
File & data formats: https://cadmium.x9c.fr/distrib/caml-formats.pdf
Instruction set: https://cadmium.x9c.fr/distrib/caml-instructions.pdf

3 Likes

The .bc is just the result of renaming the executable file to distinguish the executable produced by the bytecode compiler ocamlc from the one produced by native code compiler ocamlopt (use file extension .exe). You can disassemble the .bc file, but the result would only be asm code of OCaml bytecode runtime functions, and the bytecode is stored in the executable as data.

It’s just the same file produced by ocamlc renamed.

In addition to what @mnxn mentioned,