Modern Standard Library Documentation

Hi All,

I’m new to learning OCaml and also new to this forum.

I am really enjoying learning OCaml, but there’s a lot of quirks and weird things since I feel like a lot of things are in transition right now, but one thing that really bugged me was how outdated the docs on the standard library looked.

So I decided to re-theme it. Here’s my interpretation of it, based on Elixir docs:
https://www.streamingspring.com/ocaml/docs/

It has a sidebar to quickly navigate between modules and functions. Also has a search bar.

Its a little heavy right now since all the docs are basically downloaded to front-end, but it works for now. In the future, I may change it to be served from the server-side.

How it works right now is this:

• I use lambdasoup to parse the original standard library
  • I use atd-gen to convert it into json
  • I use bs-json to read it back in on the front-end. (with a hack for compatibility)
  • I then use bucklescript-tea to display it.

I feel that I could rearrange the content better, but I’m still a bit confused on certain things and I’m still a bit confused on Functors and more advanced concepts. I’ll get to that a little later.

I think that the content itself could be improved, but as I’m a beginner, not really going to be working on that for now.

Anyways, I hope it helps some people.

26 Likes

It’s neat! Docs were actually recently revamped and made very nice, but I must admit that made it even nicer (though this is a matter of taste, and there might be people who may not share my feelings). But I’m with a greedy interest here, will you share the source code? :wink:

2 Likes

Thanks.

Yes, the source code is here: https://github.com/seadynamic8/ocaml-modern-docs
(It’s already included on the homepage of the docs)

Sorry, the code could be better. And no tests, maybe i’ll add some later.

2 Likes