Is there an easy way to split a list

I am new to ocaml and a am trying to write a function that takes a list and returns list of pairs of first and last second and 2nd last and so forth .I have an idea of how to do this but only problem i have is that i dont know how to split the list in half.

What did you try to split your list in half? Note also that you need to make a decision for lists with an odd number of elements like ['b','o','b'].

maybe convert to array first? then you index from both ends, etc. Or reverse the list, then recurse down both at the same time, stopping halfway (during reverse, compute length).

ETA: Either way, you have to allocate memory O(length of input) so you might as well just use the array-based method, I guess.

I found a function that splits a list in half on a inputed number.But i am looking for a shorter solution at divides list . length by 2 and on that element to split the list. For lists with odd number of elements it really doesnt matter.

Jeah i was thinking about rev but it would be much easier if i could split original list in half and rev the second part and then concat pairs of head and rec tails. It doesnt matter if list has odd number of elements because when one list runs out of elements the recursin will stop

Just have a function that takes the original list and a empty list. Build up the empty list(with the first half of the original list) until you reach the halfway point and then use the remainder of the original list and the built up empty list to generate your pairs.

Note: this assumes an even number of elements on the original list.