Idiomatically functional way of finding two numbers in BST which add to a target

I am writing code to find two numbers in a binary search tree which add to a given number. The code I currently have is below, with the implementation in the function two_sum at bottom. The code is somewhat object-oriented, using an iterator to keep state. I am new to functional programming and am wondering if there is a more idiomatic way to write this.

open Core

type 'a node = {
  key: 'a;
  left: 'a t;
  right: 'a t;
}
and 'a t =
  | Empty
  | Node of 'a node

module Dfs = struct

type 'a iterator = {
    bst: 'a t;
    current: 'a option;
    stack: 'a node list;
  }

let create_iterator (bst: 'a t) : 'a iterator =
    {
      bst = bst;
      current =
        begin
          match bst with
          | Empty -> None
          | Node node -> Some node.key
        end;
      stack = [];
    }

let rec next_inorder (it: 'a iterator) : 'a iterator =
    match it.bst with
    | Empty ->
      begin
        match it.stack with
        | h::t -> { bst = h.right; current = Some h.key; stack = t }
        | [] -> { bst = Empty; current = None; stack = [] }
      end
    | Node node ->
      next_inorder { bst = node.left; current = it.current; stack = node::it.stack }

let rec prev_inorder (it: 'a iterator) : 'a iterator =
    match it.bst with
    | Empty ->
      begin
        match it.stack with
        | h::t -> { bst = h.left; current = Some h.key; stack = t }
        | [] -> { bst = Empty; current = None; stack = [] }
      end
    | Node node ->
      prev_inorder { bst = node.right; current = it.current; stack = node::it.stack }

end

(* Returns first solution found, or None *)
let two_sum (nums: int t) (target: int) : (int * int) option =
  let rec loop (left: int Dfs.iterator) (right: int Dfs.iterator) : (int * int) option =
    let left_value = Option.value_exn left.current in
    let right_value = Option.value_exn right.current in
    if left_value >= right_value then