How to use ppx_show

Hey, I am new to Ocaml, and trying to understand how the language works.
My current struggle is understand how to add ppx_show on types and classes.

Coming form Java or Rust its very simple to print objects. Either have a .toString generated on the objects, or add a Debug Trait for rust.

Now in Ocaml I found ppx_show, but material on how to use it is much to be desired.

Here is my case and my dune config.

(

executable
 (public_name order_manager)
 (name main)
 (preprocess(pps ppx_deriving.show ppx_deriving.ord))
 (libraries orderbook lwt sexplib ppx_show.runtime)
 (modules main))

As for the code:

module OrderEntry = struct
  include Showable

type t = {securityId: string ; price: int ; qty: int ; } [@@deriving show]
end 

module PriceBook(S: SideType) = 
  struct

type t = { id: string ; price: int ; side: string ; mutable price_map: OrderEntry.t list } [@@deriving show] ;;

let init_book p = { id = "0001" ; price = p ; side = "BID" ; price_map = [] }
end;;

module SellPriceBook = PriceBook(struct let side = Sell end)

let pb = SellPriceBook.init_book

let () = show pb 

File "bin/main.ml", line 8, characters 9-13:
8 | let () = show pb 
             ^^^^
Error: Unbound value show

What am missing to be able to print the content of the types ?

1 Like

Hello! Can you try:

let pb = SellPriceBook.init_book 42 (* was missing a price *)

let str = SellPriceBook.show pb (* was missing the module *)

let () = print_endline str (* show returns a string, not unit *)

To clarify, the PPX automatically defines the show function for your type next to it, in the module SellPriceBook. The show function is not defined globally which is why you got the unbound error :slight_smile:

You should also be able to drop the ppx_show.runtime from your dune file (as you are actually using ppx_deriving.show and not ppx_show)

Thanks for the comment and pointing out my mistakes.

I have tried the suggestion, and it is still complaining.