How to set up unit testing in 2023

I’ve reached a certain point in my personal project where I regret not having built unit tests right away. There’s too much state for me to easily test each path in the program and I want to know I’m not breaking basic things beyond the protection afforded to me by the typechecker.

Unfortunately I have very little experience in unit testing in OCaml. I’d love to hear about framework recommendations but more importantly, I’d love to see examples of how you set them up in your projects. I don’t mind placing unit tests in every file, but I’d prefer not to build them all the time if possible.

8 Likes

I feel a little silly responding with my beginner hat still on…

But you may have a look at this WIP:

In short, I’d like to contribute to the Caqti project a less than minimal example demonstrating general library usage.

What I have in mind is taking an OCaml curious developer by the hand so he can get a taste of what it’s like to talk to a database in OCaml.

I apply unit and integration testing as I go along so you may find a few ideas interesting here.

TLDR: I find ppx_assert just perfect :star_struck:

2 Likes

I’m a beginner when it comes to unit testing OCaml code too (have a little bit of experience using OUnit2 and Alcotest and preferred the latter), but I might have a small suggestion to make test-writing more a tiny bit more convenient.

The suggestion is just organising your tests like in the example set by lines 1-18 in this file, which I think is not a bad idea.

It was a bit of a pain for me to manually wire up the tests in a list like in minimal example on the Alcotest repository.

I think the reason OUnit2 and Alcotest need to have a list of tests at the end (unlike JS/.NET and some others which auto-discover tests) is because OCaml lacks runtime reflection, but I might be wrong about that.