How to create a hashtbl using Base?

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to create and use a hashtbl using the Base library. There are some resources online concerning the standard library hashtbls, but I am not sure if the Base hashtbls are supposed to work the same way because the docs don’t seem to concretely define the type provided as an argument to the create function (or I could be using the docs wrong because I’m a beginner). I have also tried to follow Ch. 13 of RWO, and did this:

Hashtbl.create ~hashable:String.hash ()

But I get the error:

Error: The function applied to this argument has type
         ?growth_allowed:bool ->
         ?size:int -> unit -> ('a, 'b) Base__Hashtbl.t
This argument cannot be applied with label ~hashable

Again, because I don’t know what the type of the arguments are, I don’t even know if Base still uses the ~hashable optional argument. Has the interface changed?

1 Like

This is one of the few differences between the Base API and that of Core and Core_kernel. The idiom of Base is as follows:

>>> let table = Hashtbl.create (module Int) ();;
val table : (Base.int, '_a) Hashtbl.t = <abstr>

You pass in the first-class module, rather than a specific hashable value within the module in question.

We expect to update RWO to use Base instead of Core and Core_kernel, but we’re not quite there yet.

y

2 Likes

A related question while on the topic of the Base vs Core API. Perhaps I’m old-fashioned, but its not uncommon for me to want to use the Base collections as if they had a functorial interface. For example:

module Order_by_start = struct
  type t = Location.t
  include Comparator.Make (struct
      type t = Location.t
      let sexp_of_t _ = Sexp.Atom "_"
      let compare (x: t) (y: t) = compare_position x.loc_start y.loc_start
    end)
end

module Order_by_end = struct
  type t = Location.t
      type t = Location.t
      let sexp_of_t _ = Sexp.Atom "_"