How to access the module Uutf.String.UTF_8

How can I access Inside utop to module Uutf.String.UTF_8 ?

I did

utop #require "uutf";;

and can see, for example, the type of

utop # Uutf.String.encoding_guess;;
- : string -> [ `UTF_16BE | `UTF_16LE | `UTF_8 ] * bool = <fun>

however, utop does not show me the “UTF_8” in autocompletion when I type

utop # Uutf.String.

I am a really OCaml beginner, just started yesterday.

Thanks

Sorry this API was never published (and I don’t think it will), the fact that it went online is a glitch which is now corrected.

Oh, two days of OCaml and I have just contributed with something? :wink:

Can you then tell me what is the most complete, stable, quality, etc …, generally accepted library to deal with Unicode in OCaml? Since there is no official support, and there are a few libraries, I need some guidance here …

Thanks for your prompt response.

It depends on what you want to do. You may want to have a look my biased tips.

The tips seem very comprehensive, thanks.

But for example, using Uutf library how can I get a substring of a Unicode string as a string so that I can print it with print_endline?

How is your substring determined ?

Suppose I have this

let s = "This is Chinese 人物";;

How can I use Uutf, or another library, to get a string containing the bytes of "Chinese 人物" so I can print it with print_endline?

That may not be a very good example since s is presumably already in UTF-8 you can simply split on the second ’ ’ US-ASCII character…

But in general if you need to conditionalize on code points you should decode your UTF-8 string via Uutf.String.fold_utf_8 and reencode what you want in a Buffer.t value via Uutf.Buffer.add_utf_8 (or if you are on OCaml >= 4.06.0, via Buffer.add_utf_8).

The sample code of in Uucp.Case module has a few example e.g. to lowercase or uppercase strings.

I was afraid you were going to answer like you did … yet I was hopping you were not … (oh my!)