Help with structuring an data in an OCaml game

Hi everyone! I’m looking for some general help with a problem I am having in an application I am developing, I’ve been using OCaml for the last 5 years in my spare time, so I know a fair but about the basic language but sometimes struggle with the more advanced concepts like GDATs

I am developing a multiplayer card game using OCaml as a server, communicating with a web client via websockets using JSON as the interchange format.

Each card has an associated ability when used that can arbitrarily change the state of the game (currently Game.t), some cards can take “arguments” that are chosen by the user (who to use the ability on, for example). I envisage a function similar with the following type to take this action: val make_card_action : Game.t -> Player.t -> arguments -> Game.t, where Player.t is the player making the action. arguments would be some type defined somewhere for each card and another function would parse JSON into this type: val arguments_of_json : Yojson.t -> arguments option.

Additionally the cards present in the game are chosen before the game starts, so these must be stored in a set of some kind (in my current attempt I create a set using Set.Make(Card))

So my question is quite open really - what is the best way to structure the cards, I have thought about using one module to represent a card (Card.t), which could contain the functions above, eg:

module Card = struct
  type t = {
    name: string;
    description: string;
    make_action: Game.t -> Player.t -> Yojson.t -> Game.t;
  } [@@deriving sexp]

let create
      ~description
      ~make_action
      name = {
      name; description; make_action
    }

let name t = t.name
  let description t = t.description

let compare t1 t2 = String.compare t1.name t2.name

let json_of_card { name; description; gives_money; is_required; min_players; } : Yojson.t =
  (* Converts to a JSON format *)

let make_card_action t = t.make_action
end