Help with Open Cascade Technology (C++) bindings

At work, we use python bindings to OCCT, which is a CAD kernel. Python can be a little slow and I thought that I would try to write some OCaml bindings as a learning exercise. What is the best way to write bindings to a C++ object oriented library? Are there any example projects that could show me how its done? Right now I am going off of this issue from the ctypes library: https://github.com/ocamllabs/ocaml-ctypes/issues/187. I also took a brief look at how ocaml pytorch bindings were done. I am not an experienced programmer, so any help/advice would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Does OCCT’s C++ API provide only entrypoints, or also callback? That is, are there places where you supply a C++ object with methods, that get invoked by OCCT ?

No callbacks. Just entrypoints as far as I know.

Are the types in the entrypoints all simple types? Or are there complex types – pointers, structs, arrays ? Does it use STL for complex-type arguments ? How is memory ownership managed across the API ?

Not all types are simple. There are a lot of complex types too. It does look like STL is used. All objects are reference counted and use a custom memory allocator. Objects that are meant to be allocated on the heap inherit from a base class that provides a field to keep track of reference counting. The memory manager has a cluster of small arrays for small objects, whose memory can be recycled. Larger objects are allocated with malloc as needed. Not sure if this is what you meant by “memory ownership”, but hope it helps.