GPU accelerated numerical ops on OCaml arrays via pyml + jax?

I recently started playing with pyml + jax.

I am wondering if anyone has taken the following approach:

1. write AST describing numerical op in OCaml DSL
  2. transpile this to pyhon
  3. feed it to pyml, calling Jax.jit
  4. get back CPU / GPU optimized code for the functions
  5. invoke the functions on OCaml arrays

===

My understanding is: pyml does 3, Jax does 4, pyml w/ numpy support does 5; so the only missing parts are 1 & 2.

For those more versed in OCaml / Python-fu, can you let me know if this could work or if I am missing something glaringly obvious ?

EDIT: ping @lukstafi

I think one alternative way can be to write the numerical code using Owl and then use owl-symbolic to export it to onnx and via pyml execute the onnx model on the appropriate hardware

2 Likes

Given JAX’s integration with / reliance on Python, it’s unclear to me what the benefit would be. I’m curious if you feel the need to do the iterative development / debugging in Python, and/or whether pyml provides enough of a bridge to blur the boundary. Do you use the Python debugger to step through JAX computing the tracer objects?

Can GitHub - LaurentMazare/ocaml-onnx: OCaml ONNX runtime powered by onnxruntime run it directly without Pyml?

1 Like

Indeed, this should make it possible to evaluate onnx models without using python and still benefit from the speed of onnxruntime.

When it comes to using jax, I’ve been working on Rust bindings for XLA (the compiler that underpins jax) over the last week , see xla-rs. These are very experimental but should as of a couple hours ago be complete enough to evaluate a GPT-2 model. I plan on polish the Rust version a bit and if there is some interest may well craft an OCaml version too.

7 Likes

For some reason I thought only python ONNX runtime supports training. Is it possible to run training via ONNX using your library as well?