Generate functions at compile time

I am new to the OCaml metaprogramming ecosystem. I would like to generate at compile time a structure with some functional values. What would be the simplest way to achieve this? Which PPXs should I look at, or should I go with compiler-libs? Do you have a reference to some sample code to get me started?

You probably want MetaOCaml. Or its spiritual successor: MacoOcaml (see below).

No, that’s for generating compiled code at runtime. For generating at compile time, you need MacoCaml. For some reason I cannot find the implementation link…

MacoCaml: Staging Composable and Compilable Macros | Proceedings of the ACM on Programming Languages

Hi @borisd,

Between writing a PPX or using compiler-libs, definitely a PPX! To write a PPX, you’ll want to use ppxlib. Given that you’re planning to generate new code (rather than replacing code), you’ll want to write a deriver. You can have a look at the dervier example on the ppxlib repo and the documentation on ppxlib, particularly the section on how to register a deriver. You can also have a look at some of the Jane Street derivers, which are all very hygienic, e.g. ppx_compare

To come to your concrete example:

I would like to generate at compile time a structure with some functional values.

As a basic starting point, you could derive a module called My_generated_module containing an identity function (not checked):

let derive_id ~ctxt _type_declarations =
let loc = Expansion_context.Deriver.derived_item_loc ctxt in
let id_fun = [%stri let my_id x = x] in
[%str module My_generated_module = struct [%%i id_fun] end]

let () =
let generator = Deriving.Generator.V2.make_noarg derive_id in
Deriving.add "id" ~str_type_decl:generator |> Deriving.ignore

That example is using metaquot, so apart from adding a (kind ppx_deriver) field to your PPX’s dune file, you’ll also need to add a (preprocess (pps ppxlib.metaquot) field.