Extensible Records in OCaml

Hi, I’m relatively new to OCaml but have been digging in deep for the past 6 months (thanks to ReasonML). OCaml has turned out to be a wonderful language with a lot of great features, but one feature that is sorely missing for me is extensible records.

In this post I describe how implementing extensible variants is a worthwhile effort, covering:

1. Why extensible records?
  2. The ideal solution
  3. The interim solution

Why extensible records?

Extensible records shine most when writing and working with frameworks. Take a web server framework for instance. It’s common for frameworks to support composable, reusable middleware that you can easily plug into your app. See how the following authenticate_user middleware function is used:

let me_route =
get("/me")
>>> authenticate_user
>>> fun req ->
  User.json req.ctx.user |> Response.send(200)

In our pretend web framework, a route has a context. This context happens to be an extensible record, allowing middleware to extended it with arbitrary fields. In this case, the authenticate_user function extends req.ctx with a new user field.

This is a powerful pattern, evidenced when you start working with multiple middleware functions:

let update_team_route =
patch("/teams")

(* Adds req.ctx.team *)
>>> param(id => { team: Team.get(id) })

(* Adds req.ctx.user *)
>>> auth_user

(* Checks req.ctx.user has access to req.ctx.team *)
>>> auth_team_admin

(* Adds req.ctx.body *)
>>> json_body
>>> fun req -> ...

Extensible records take some of the best aspects from both the dynamic and static programming worlds. Even though our functions add arbitrary fields, OCaml will statically disallow you from composing middleware that try to read fields that don’t exist.

The Ideal Solution

In an ideal world, OCaml would support extensible records directly. Due to how current “normal” records are optimized for speedy constant access, this would have to be separate from that.