Emitting a stream from Eio.Buf_read.parse, and other Eio questions

I’m trying to transform incoming bytes into a stream of events (similar to how markup.ml emits XML/HTML “signals” (start/end tags, attributes, text nodes, etc.)). If my event type is signal, should I write a function that implements (signal Stream.t) Buf_read.parser, and then hand that to Buf_read.parse? Or should I implement unit Buf_read.parser and have it call an emit function internally? Or is there some other stream → stream API more catered to this? The reason I’m doubting myself is because I’m unsure if Buf_read.parse is meant more for reducing a bytestream down to a single value, or if it’s also meant for producing a stream itself.

(Sorry if I’ve got anything terribly mixed up here, I’m new to this stuff.)

Edit: I guess now that I’ve written this, I realized I’ve basically been searching for a Stream.filter_map-esque function, except that Flow.source and Stream.t are separate types. Edit 2: also except that it would need an accumulator or something, LOL. I’m not good with all the Scala-y higher order list/stream functions.

Also, if I have a recursive function using Buf_read/Buf_write functions to parse/serialize some recursive structure, should I be calling Fiber.yield () on my own? (I’m guessing Buf_write.string, etc. are yielding themselves, so maybe I don’t need to yield myself outside of calling those functions? Just want to double-check my understanding.)

Side note: it’s nice having Angstrom- and Faraday-esque functionality builtin to Eio, very convenient! I hadn’t realized that was there before I started browsing the API.

1 Like