Does {x with y = y'} clone the other fields?

Hi, beginner here with a few basic questions, hopefully not too long of a post.

I was trying to write a basic lexer for a programming language interpreter, and I wanted to represent the lexer state with a record type along the lines of this:

type lexer = {
  source: string;
  pos: int;
}

where source is the source code as a string. This way, the state is immutable and we can produce the next state with something like:

let advance s = { s with pos = s.pos + 1; }

probably returning some character/token as well, checking for end-of-string, etc while leaving the source string unchanged. From the examples I’ve seen online, this seems to be a common idiom.

My question is, does advance create a new copy of s.source (in a new memory location) for the returned record, every time it is called? Because if that’s the case, it sounds expensive, especially if the source string is large.
I suspect there’s no cloning, at least with immutable fields. Like, if we go on utop and write:

# let x = "hello";;
# let y = x;;

then maybe there’s no problem in having both x and y point to the same memory location where the value "hello" lives. The value itself could get GC’d once we can GC both x and y. Is this what happens with the source field above?

I’ve read somewhere that all OCaml values other than integers are boxed – is that what comes into play in the previous example? I imagine that if what x holds is just a pointer, then it’s easy to give that same pointer to y, where neither pointer allows mutating the actual "hello" value in memory.
Would this mean that cloning does happen if the source field was an (unboxed) integer? Say here:

# let x = 142857;;
# let y = x;;

does the value 142857 actually get cloned into a new location in memory? Although I would expect cloning integers to be pretty cheap, so maybe it’s not a big deal.