Define Literals on Parser using ocamlyacc / menhir

Hey!

I’m using OCaml to build a compiler and I’ve never used OCaml before. I’ve used YACC and Lex before though. I’m using ocamlyacc right now, but I can change to menhir if it facilitates the question.

My language has a lot of text. For example, I could write “My name is Alice.” and I would like to simply extract “Alice” from there. As far as I understand, the lexer has to output a token for all the words (My, name, is) or for the entire sentence (“My name is”). However, the language is quite big and defining all this partially sentences or words as tokens would easily reach the maximum size of the automata.

The lexer code:

{
  open Parser
  exception Eof
}

rule token = parse
    [' ' '\t']                  { token lexbuf }     (* skip blanks *)
  | ['\n' ]                     { EOL }
  | ['a'-'z''A'-'Z']+  as lxm   { WORD(lxm) }
  | "My name is"                { MY_NAME_IS }
  | eof                         { raise Eof }

The parser code:

%token <int> INT
%token <string> WORD
%token EOL
%token MY_NAME_IS

%start main
%type <Types.person> main

%%

main:
  MY_NAME_IS WORD EOL { { name = $2 } }
;

Is there any other way of defining these structures on the parser itself? For example, write "My name is" WORD EOL instead. Otherwise, producing tokens for all these semi-sentences (or even word by word) becomes quickly tedious and probably going to reach some limit.

Thank you in advance!

I think more detail into your problem would definitely make it easier to help you.
However, I believe the answer is no, Menhir and Yacc both take as input a sequence of tokens with semantic values attached. I am not even sure what kind of representation you would like.

Oh and, yes Menhir is a lot better than OCamlyacc, look up the “library” section of its doc. Its also a lot faster, and uses less memory.

If you want more flexible parsers, you might want to look into combinator parsers. You will lose some performance though.