Convert HTML to TyXML

Im prototyping a new backend with OCaml, and im using Dream and TyXML for generating the output (HTML). Having done web dev for over a decade, i am scarred by the ecosystem that is javascript. Because of this i decided to build with HTMX (i return HTML fragments instead of JSON).

I have some experience with this approach from a Go app i did previously, and the developer experience was fantastic. However its super tedious to mock up the TyXML code from a Tailwind template (i want to reuse some previous components i got), and it seems the TyXML ppx is not working with ocaml 5. Does anyone have any suggestions how i could “generate” the TyXML code from a valid HTML string, this would vastly increase the time taken to build my prototype.

2 Likes

I don’t know if you are wedded to TyXML, but if not dream-html offers built-in support for the custom htmx attributes and is quite simple to use.

That’s not going to help with your reverse-engineering HTML though. Personally I’d probably end up with a monstrous bunch of python/perl hand-written translation rules that would get me 80% of the way there and do manual cleanup.

2 Likes

Thanks!

I actually found dream-html, and at a first glance it looks very similar to TyXML (not sure if you loose some of the type safety compared to TyXML). I started with TyXML because thats what i had used previously, however never with the starting point of migrating HTML to TyXML. I Got quite complex components, and when composing them they are hundreds of LOC so the migration is quite painful without a ppx or some tool.

I strongly suggest trying putting your htmx snippets in .re files, and making use of tyxml’s jsx ppx. This and other similar topics are touched on in this thread: Htmx/htmlact web development approach - #16 by cemerick

Using this approach, I find it quite pleasant and easy to bring HTML+tailwind templates and snippets into jsx/tyxml.