Code review: Simple template string parser

Code

Hi I’m very new to OCaml and haven’t written a parser in it before. I’m curious if you could code review this simple ~70 line parser for my PPX. I wrote it because my old regex based implementation could handle

Hello there {name} I am {name2} and {string_of_int 1}

but not

Hi {some_func {a=1; b=2;}} you're \\{great!\\}

It’s tested pretty decently so I know it works, but I want to know if I did it in the optimal way or if there’s a better way to do it whether that means using more advanced parsing techniques or OCaml features I don’t know about.

type tstr =
  | TStr of string
  | TVar of string
type parse_state =
  | Start
  | InString
  | InCurly of int
type parse_error =
  | NO_EXPRESSION
  | NO_OPENING
  | NO_CLOSING
  | EMPTY_STR

exception Parse_error of int * parse_error

let parse_str str =
  let len = String.length str in
  let buf = Buffer.create 500 in

let add c = Buffer.add_char buf c in
  let contents () =
    let s = Buffer.contents buf in
    Buffer.clear buf;
    s
  in

let rec parser ~i ~state ~lst str =
    if i = len then
      match state with
      | Start ->
        raise (Parse_error (0, EMPTY_STR))
      | InString ->
          if Buffer.length buf = 0 then
            lst
          else
            (TStr (contents ()) :: lst)
      | InCurly _ ->
        raise (Parse_error (i, NO_CLOSING))
    else
      let c = str.[i] in
      match state with
      | Start ->
        if c == '{' then
          str |> parser ~i:(i + 1) ~state:(InCurly 0) ~lst
        else
          str |> parser ~i ~state:InString ~lst
      | InString ->
          if i = len - 1 then
            match c with
            | '{' ->
              raise (Parse_error (i, NO_CLOSING))
            | '}' ->
              raise (Parse_error (i, NO_OPENING))
            | _ ->
              add c;
              str |> parser ~i:(i + 1) ~state:InString ~lst
          else
            let c2 = str.[i + 1] in (