Building Base and other Jane Street libraries from source

Hi everyone,

I’m new to OCaml and trying to get oriented with dune so that I can build projects and run tests automatically. Using python as an example, I would usually write tests within separate files under a “project_root/test” directory and run them with “pytest”. I’m trying to do the same thing using dune, and I’m looking at Jane Street’s Base library as an example.

A few questions:

1. “dune runtest” doesn’t seem to run the Base tests. I’ve emulated the structure used in Base within my own project and added some tests that will fail - but nothing happens with “dune runtest”. How can I actually run these tests?

2. Is this a good approach in general, or should I be writing inline tests directly within the module’s ml files? For longer test suites I’d imagine separate files are preferred.

3. Is there a good up-to-date resource on best practices for testing? I read the dune documentation but the discussion there isn’t very detailed when it comes to testing.

Thanks!

Update: I think that dune is actually failing silently on dune runtest since dune build fails with the following error:

3 | include Sexp.Private.Raw_grammar.Builtin
            ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Error: Unbound module Sexp.Private.Raw_grammar

I tried installing sexp and sexplib but haven’t been able to get past this error. Any ideas?

TL;DR:

Long version:

Regarding Jane Street libraries, dune runtest is not expected to work. Or rather, it might work but it is not checked and not guaranteed to work. The reason for this is that most projects under https://github.com/janestreet are developed inside Jane Street and are then simply exported to github. Inside Jane Street, we use different tools and different building and testing environments, so things don’t work out of the box when they are exported to github. The system requires constant testing and on-going maintenance.