Building an OCaml list of string from C

Hi there, I’m currently trying to wrap around my head with C interop while adding features to ocaml-ssl. I’m having trouble that my code is segfaulting.

Disclaimer: I’m a beginner in C so my code would most likely look funny to you, but please bear with me (and possibly suggest improvements) :slight_smile:

Basically, I have this data structure:

const unsigned char *protocol_buffer = {
  2, 'h', '2',
  8, 'h', 't', 't', 'p', '/', '1', '.', '1'
};

And I want to transform this into an OCaml string list of ["h2"; "http/1.1"].

I currently have this code:

static value build_alpn_protocol_list(const unsigned char *protocol_buffer, unsigned int len)
{
  value protocol_list;

int idx = 0;
  int list_len = 0;
  while (idx < len)
  {
    list_len++;
    int proto_len = (int) protocol_buffer[idx++];
    idx += proto_len;
  }
  protocol_list = caml_alloc(list_len, 0);
  idx = 0;
  int list_idx = 0;
  while (idx < len)
  {
    char proto[proto_len + 1];
    int i;
    for (i = 0; i < proto_len; i++)
    {
      proto[i] = (char) protocol_buffer[idx++];
    }
    proto[proto_len] = '\0';
    value p = caml_copy_string(proto);
    Store_field(protocol_list, list_idx++, p);
  }

return protocol_list;
}

If you notice there’s a value p there, and if I tried to printf("%s\n", String_val(p)) it outputs both h2 and http/1.1 strings correctly inside the loop.

I managed to pass this protocol_list into an OCaml callback, but it segfaulted when I tried to do List.length on it. Assuming the output from ocamldebug is correct, it segfaulted in this line:

Time: 255 - pc: 10252 - module List
20   | _::l -> <|b|>length_aux (len + 1) l

My naive guess is that it is something related to GC on protocol_list. (It might also be related to how I am passing and calling the callback, but I’d stop here first to isolate the problem. If you need me to provide the code that passes the callback do let me know).