Buffered IO, bytes vs bigstring

Not sure if this question really makes sense, but here goes.

Jane St. libs use the venerable “bigstring” as a buffer type. Other IO libs use the more recent “bytes”. My guess is that it is not possible to zero-copy coerce between these types. So a choice has to be made as to which to use.

Various factors may weigh on this choice. For example, Jane St. has lots of libs that already use bigstring, so you should use bigstring if you want to take advantage of these libs. On the other hand, there are also lots of libs that use bytes.

My question: is there any intrinsic reason to prefer one or the other?

1 Like

I’m still in my first year of OCaml, so take this with a grain of salt, but I’m leaning towards Bigarray for buffers. As you noticed it’s used in a lot of places for its efficient properties not just for interfacing with C but even in itself for codecs and I/O.

It’s used in its “bigstring” form in several libraries: Core, ctypes, Lwt_bytes, bigstringaf to name a few. It’s also used in the Stdlib itself in Unix.map_file since 4.06 which is great for reading (not writing) files.

Since some libraries use Buffer.t and some use string or bytes, some copying is unavoidable. We can only minimize it.

Note: by “bigstring” I mean any type resolving to (char, Bigarray.int8_unsigned_elt, Bigarray.c_layout) Bigarray.Array1.t

It mostly depends on your allocation policy and the life of your buffers. The question is difficult and it depends on your context but I can list some particularities about both:

• bigstring/bigarray can not be relocated by the GC. That mostly means that the buffer will never move even if the GC enters into a cycle.