Beginner. Trying to use dune for the first time

I’ve been programming for 40 years, so I’m not REALLY new. I’ve played with Ocaml off and on (mostly off) for a few years, and am trying to “get it” again, this time using dune. I have written a few lines of code that looks good to me, but ‘dune build’ isn’t happy. Please tell me what I’m doing wrong:

I created a new project with ‘dune init proj lisp’. I wrote a short main program in lisp/bin/main.ml:

let repl input =
print_endline “repl…”;
()

let () =
let input = Lex.make_input_stream stdin in
repl input

And a short module that I put in lib/lex.ml and lib/lex.mli:

type stream = {
mutable line_num : int;
mutable chr : char list;
chan : in_channel;
}

let make_input_stream input = { chr = ; line_num = 1; chan = input }

type stream = {
mutable line_num : int;
mutable chr : char list;
chan : in_channel;
}

val make_input_stream : in_channel → stream

What could be simpler? I do a ‘dune build’ and it says:

File “bin/main.ml”, line 6, characters 14-35:
6 | let input = Lex.make_input_stream stdin in
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Error: Unbound module Lex

I’m SO confused. I can’t spot anything wrong. Please tell me what my error is.

1 Like

I’m assuming you probably need Lisp.Lex.make_input_stream or to put open Lisp at the top of your bin/main.ml file.

Edit: fixed the lib name. Also, I just double checked by making a small project as you describe and that’s your problem.

Yes, that fixed. Thank you. I had never seen that .. construction.

I have another not-really-related question now:

I’m trying to understand dune, and it seems complicated.

When I do a ‘dune build’, it makes an executable called main.exe. The bin/dune file says:

(executable
(public_name lisp)
(name main)
(libraries lib))

I want ‘dune build’ to build lisp.exe, not main.exe. Am I wrong to expect it to do that? Can I make some obvious change to make that happen? What is the effect of ‘(public_name lisp)’? Sounds like he knows it should be lisp.exe.