[ANN] zbg: Zero Bullshit Git

Good morning everyone! :sunrise:

I’ve started learning OCaml only recently, and I would like to share my OSS project with everyone:

I’ve been using git for many years, and I came up with a workflow that works perfectly for me but it was tedious to type all the commands manually, and .gitconfig aliases weren’t powerful enough. So I decided to package my workflow into a CLI tool. I also added prettier versions of some commands. Maybe you’ll enjoy them too :hugs:

I started learning OCaml only recently; this is my first OSS project with OCaml. Before that, I was mostly using Haskell for the last 7 years. Still, I would greatly appreciate suggestions on improving the code, making it more idiomatic, utilizing OCaml tooling, and everything else. Feedback is welcome!

There’s still some work to be done in zbg, so if you want to have fun and join the development, have a look at open issues.

21 Likes

This is a cool project, but what I really want is the details for your terminal prompt.

Haha, thanks! :sweat_smile:

I’m using starship.rs for my terminal prompt. And here’s my starship.toml config (currently supports only OCaml, Haskell and Rust languages).

What I especially like about this tool is that I don’t need to learn another shell like zsh or fish to get pretty prompt. I can download a starship executable to a directory inside my $PATH, add a line to my ~/.bashrc and write a custom starship.toml config, and it’ll work automagically!

3 Likes

Nice project! Will be trying it out over a few weeks (on my macOS; not sure if it works on Windows). I’ll be trying starship as well because it is cross-platform; two things I learned about today!

You may want to have something like the following instructions to help new users:

opam switch create x-zbg 4.14.0
opam pin --switch x-zbg -y 'git+https://github.com/chshersh/zbg.git#v0.1.0'

install -d ~/.local/bin