8 months of OCaml after 8 years of Haskell in production

Hi everyone :wave:

I’ve been using Haskell in production for the previous 8 years. But for the last 8 months, I used OCaml at Bloomberg.

I wrote a blog post comparing two languages from my POV:

I tried to provide a reasonable and balanced overview of these two languages, although my experience in both is significantly different. I hope this blog post can give a rough idea of both languages :relieved:

Enjoy! And let me know any feedback you have!

19 Likes

Hi, thanks for the blog post! I was wondering why you didn’t write the pow function as

let rec pow base = function
  | 0 -> 1
  | n -> base * (pow base (n-1))
3 Likes

Great point!

I wanted to come up with a function to show the difference between guards and if-then-else. I now see that this is not the best example, as it can be written with pattern-matching in both cases, but I’ll gladly hear other suggestions! :pray:

Although I have only recently dabbled with OCaml, I def. agree with you that the features of ocaml are just easier to work with to be productive. I also find that the ecosystem of OCaml is much smaller but the packages strike a better abstraction level, IMO Dream is much easier to work with and test than most Haskell web frameworks I’ve dealt with.

There are also a lot of fundamental things that are so complex in haskell (lens for records, error handling and monad stacks) which you don’t need to touch if you use ocaml. That means as a consequence, the error message, while maybe less descriptive, become a lot easier to grok. The super fast compile times make the LSP and just working with the language in general sooooo much more ergonomic. Also polymorphic variants make error handling simple.

I will say though that my experience with OCaml is that you are more likely to deal with dependency hell and you’ll need more system level packages, which is not something I had to deal with as much in Haskell.

4 Likes