I found something similar to this piece of code:

module Pairs = struct
          type 'a pair = 'a * 'a
          let pair (a,b) = (a,b)
          let first (a,_) = a
          let second (_,b) = b
end;;

type 'a quad = 'a Pairs.pair Pairs.pair;;

I am confused about the last line, and the fact that Pairs.pair is both a function and a type.
Yes, I know that values and types have different namespaces. I still don’t get what the right hand side of the line does.

I am a beginner, so I am used to type definitions like type 'a some_type = 'a * 'a , where the star “*” is used to make a larger tuple. If I do in utop type 'a quad = 'a Pairs.pair * 'a Pairs.pair;; , the code compiles, but I guess it’s doing a pair of two pairs, and I believe the intention of the quad data structure above was to implement a 4-tuple (not a tuple of tuples).

The last paragraph may have complicated the question, which is simply “what does the last line mean?”

The last line is a type alias:

It says, anywhere you see 'a quad, you can replace it with 'a Pairs.pair Pairs.pair. The fact that Pairs.pair is a function is irrelevant.

Another type alias could be:

type 'a arbitrary_name = 'a list

Usually, people create type aliases to simplify complicated type expressions and make their code more concise.

For example, to annotate an argument of a function as taking a nested pair:

let my_fun (x: 'a Pairs.pair Pairs.pair) = ...

we can write the following instead:

let my_fun (x: 'a quad) = ...

which is more concise and encodes more of the desired semantics of the author.

First of all thank you for your answer. I deepened my insight.

I still don’t feel confident with this particular line of code.
To illustrate, what you provided as an example (type 'a arbitrary_name = 'a list ) is very straightforward and I like it: whenever there is a list, I can consider as an arbitrary_name object. This is easy for me to visualise.

I’m still having a hard time to picture the right hand side of:

Questions: