Begginer looking to provide a default parameter without changing the signature of a function

Hi!

I’m just starting out so please let me know if I’m doing anything particularly silly:

I have defined a function:

let try_next ~f s = 
    try Some (Stream.next s |> f) 
    with Stream.Failure -> None
;;
val try_next : f:('a -> 'b) -> 'a Stream.t -> 'b option = <fun>   

But when I try to provide the identity function as a default for f I find that the signature for the function changes; presumably because the type-checker can see that Fn.id is of 'a -> 'a:

let try_next ?(f=Fn.id) s = 
;;
val try_next : ?f:('a -> 'a) -> 'a Stream.t -> 'a option = <fun> 

Even trying to supply my own signature (the original) is taken as a mismatch:

module StreamEx : sig
   val try_next : ?f:('a -> 'b) -> 'a Stream.t -> 'b option
end = struct
    let try_next ?(f=Fn.id) s = 
end
;;
Error: Signature mismatch:
    Values do not match:
     val try_next : ?f:('a -> 'a) -> 'a Stream.t -> 'a option
    is not included in

Any help would be appreciated.

The short answer is that is not possible to have a different types for the optional argument depending if the argument is explictely provided or not; and your default case has for type 'a->'a and not 'a->'b. At the type level, optional arguments are a form of typing sugar over argument with an 'a option type. In other word, a function like

let filter ?map pred l = match map with
  | None -> List.filter pred l
  | Some map -> List.filter (fun x -> pred (map x)) l

is equivalent at the type level to

let filter (map: ('a -> 'b) option) (pred:'b -> bool) (l:'a list): 'a list =
  match map with
  | None -> List.filter pred l
  | Some map -> List.filter (fun x -> pred (map x)) l